The life and achievements of Australia’s foremost polar explorer, Sir Douglas Mawson, are being honoured with the production of a commemorative coin by the Royal Australian Mint.

The Mint’s Inspirational Australians series commemorates people who have made an extraordinary contribution to the nation.

The Sir Douglas Mawson one dollar uncirculated coin was minted to mark the 100th Anniversary of the Mawson led 1911–1914 Australasian Antarctic Expedition (AAE).

The AAE was the first Australian led expedition to Antarctica and the scientific research undertaken during the three year journey greatly contributed to the world’s understanding of the region.

Mawson was knighted on his return to Australia in 1914 and continued to lead expeditions south, before taking up the post as a Professor of Geology at the University of Adelaide in his later years.

Previous Inspirational Australians included in the Royal Australian Mint series are; Mary McKillop, Steve Irwin, Fred Hollows and Dame Joan Sutherland.