The Australian Antarctic Division (AAD) laboratories are located at the Australian Antarctic Division in Kingston, Tasmania. In addition to the main laboratory complex there are 6 facilities located a short walk away from the main building. These are: the Terrestrial Ecology lab, Molecular Biology lab, Smelly lab, Electron Microscopy Unit, Cold Store Facility and the Marine Research Aquarium. An AAD Glaciology Laboratory is also located at IMAS on the Hobart waterfront.

  • The AAD facility has an Approved Arrangements Biosecurity Classification.
  • The AAD facilities are managed by a lab manager and lab technician.
  • The AAD facility holds an ARPANSA licence for work with radiation.
  • The AAD facility complies with Safe Work Australia WHS standards.
  • All laboratory equipment are calibrated and serviced regularly.
  • The AAD has dedicated sample storage facilities (flammable/−18°C/+4°C/−135°C /−85°C)
  • Laboratory glassware, PPE and some consumables are available for use.

The AAD also maintains dedicated science laboratories at each of the Australian stations in Antarctica: Davis, Casey, Mawson and on Macquarie Island.