The Australian Antarctic Division has 4 permanent research stations in Antarctica and the sub-Antarctic.

Mawson, Davis and Casey stations are on the Antarctic continent. Macquarie Island station is in the sub-Antarctic.

Scientists and support staff occupy all 4 stations year-round.

The AAD manages other significant areas in the Australian Antarctic Territory. These include Heard and McDonald Islands and Commonwealth Bay. The AAD also has a weather station at Dome Argus, the highest point in Antarctica.