The Hon Sussan Ley MP, Minister for the Environment, is seeking to appoint a new Chair of the Australian Antarctic Science Council, to commence on 1 October 2020. The Chair will be appointed for a period of up to three years and will be eligible for reappointment. This is a part-time appointment.

The Australian Antarctic Science Council (AASC) was established in 2019 to advise Government on the Australian Antarctic Science Program, including Antarctic science priorities in the context of the Australian Antarctic Strategy and 20 Year Action Plan.

The Council is led by an independent Chair with highly developed leadership skills and experience in governance and/or science. The Chair will ensure that the focus of AASC is on forward planning and strategic decision-making and managing strategic change.

Applications must be submitted on-line at the Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment’s website. A description of position requirements is also available.

Applications close at 5:00pm on Monday, 13 July 2020.