An expert in Australian Antarctic policy has been awarded the 2014 Australian National Antarctic Research Expedition’s (ANARE) Phillip Law Medal.

Andrew Jackson received the award for his outstanding contribution to Antarctic affairs and the Antarctic community, particularly for his leadership and achievement in the field of international Antarctic Policy.

Mr Jackson worked for the Australian Antarctic Division for 31 years in a variety of roles including as General Manager of Policy, head of Australia’s delegation to the annual Antarctic Treaty Committee Meeting and Antarctic voyage leader.

The President of the ANARE Club, Dr Joe Johnson, said Mr Jackson has made a major contribution to enhancing and promoting Australia’s engagement in Antarctica.

“Over many years Andrew Jackson has played a key role in building Australia’s profile as a leading player in the Antarctic and the Antarctic Treaty System,” Dr Johnson said.

“He is enormously respected for his knowledge of the Treaty and understanding of operational, heritage and environmental issues on the continent.”

Mr Jackson said he is delighted to receive the Medal.

“It is a great honour to receive this award named after Dr Phillip Law, who played such a significant role in Antarctic affairs as a leader, explorer and administrator,” Mr Jackson said.

“We would not have a permanent place in Antarctica without Phillip Law’s vision and Australia’s modern Antarctic program owes its existence to him. Our ongoing contribution to Antarctic research and international cooperation in the region builds on his legacy,” he said.

After his retirement from the Antarctic Division in 2009 Mr Jackson served as the Head of the Host Country Secretariat for the 2012 Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting in Hobart, which was attended by more than 300 delegates from over 50 nations.

Mr Jackson has worked closely with the Mawson’s Huts Foundation over a number of years and is an honorary fellow at the Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre.

He has also published a number of articles on Antarctic historical and geopolitical issues.

The Medal will be presented to Mr Jackson at ANARE’s Hobart Midwinter Dinner on 21 June.


The ANARE Club is an organisation which serves and supports current and former Australian Antarctic expeditioners.

The Phillip Law Medal was established in 2011 to celebrate the life and achievements of Dr Phillip Garth Law, the Club’s founder and patron. Dr Law was founding Director of the Australian Antarctic Division from 1949 until 1966.

The Medal is awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to Antarctic affairs and the Antarctic community in the areas of science, technology, leadership, administration, environmental management, the promotion of tourism or raising public awareness.

Previous Medal recipients:

  • 2011 Dr Martin Riddle
  • 2012 David Parer and Elizabeth Parer-Cook
  • 2013 Dr Ian Allison