The newly formed Australian Antarctic Science Council met in Canberra for the first time this week.

The Council will provide independent expert advice to Government on the Australian Antarctic Science Program, including Antarctic science priorities.

The Council is Chaired by Dr Conall O’Connell and includes independent science representatives Professor Noel Cressie from the University of Wollongong and Professor Sabine Dittmann from Flinders University.

Key Commonwealth agencies with research interests in the Australian Antarctic Program are also represented on the Council. These include:

  • Australian Antarctic Division
  • Bureau of Meteorology
  • Geoscience Australia, and
  • Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

The Council also includes the Australian Research Council, and the Chair of the Australian Academy of Science National Committee for Antarctic Research.

The establishment of the Australian Antarctic Science Council was a key recommendation of the Antarctic Science Governance Review undertaken by Mr Drew Clarke in 2017 and a commitment made by Government in responding to the Review.