Change is in the freezing katabatic wind with Australia’s new Antarctic Station Leaders heading south to the icy continent and Macquarie Island for 2014–2015.

Four new leaders will relieve wintering expeditioners and bring a renewed sense of purpose to Australia’s Antarctic program as the busy summer season swings into action.

James Moloney will be the Davis Station Leader for 2014–15. James has worked in a variety of roles supporting United Nations and non-governmental projects throughout Asia, Africa and the Middle East.

Bill DeBruyn is taking on the Station Leader role at Casey over the busy summer period. Bill is returning to Antarctica, having previously led Davis station in 2008–09, 2012–13 and 2013–14. Earlier this year Bill retired as a Superintendent from Victoria Police after more than 41 years of operational service.

John Leben will be Station Leader at Mawson for 2014–15. John has been an Operations Officer with the Country Fire Authority of Victoria for 14 years. Prior to this he spent 23 years in the Australian Army.

Jacqueline Comery will be leading the team at Macquarie Island. Jacque is an Environmental Engineer with 12 years’ experience managing infrastructure and environmental projects. She has also worked in outdoor recreation roles including in the ski fields of Australia and Canada, and teaching scuba diving across Asia.