Strengthening Antarctic links

The links between the Australian, Chinese, Russian and French national Antarctic programs were strengthened in June 2012 during the 35th Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting held in Hobart.

Director of the Australian Antarctic Division, Dr Tony Fleming, signed a Memorandum of Understanding between the Australian Antarctic Division and the Chinese Arctic and Antarctic Administration, which was represented by its Director Dr Qu Tanzhou. Dr Fleming also signed a Schedule of Action on Antarctic Cooperation with his Russian Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute counterpart, Mr Valery Lukin. 

The signing of an updated Memorandum of Agreement between the Australian Antarctic Division and the French Polar Institute Paul-Emile Victor (IPEV), updates an earlier agreement adopted in 2001 and reaffirms the close relationship between both programs. Dr Yves Frenot, Director of the IPEV, signed on behalf of the French program. 

The agreements reflect the ongoing close cooperation between Russia, China, France and Australia in Antarctic logistics and environmental protection. They also facilitate further Antarctic science collaboration in areas including glaciology, ice-core science, oceanography, and studies of ice-shelves.

Territories, Environment and Treaties

Australian Antarctic Division