Polar Series coin

The Royal Australian Mint released the first of four Polar Series coins during the launch of the International Polar Year at the Royal Society of Victoria in Melbourne on 1 March. The uncirculated $1 coin features the Australian Antarctic Territory. It precedes three $5 silver proof coins which will be released over the next three years.