There are 3 Antarctic Specially Protected Areas (ASPAs) near Mawson station.

Taylor emperor penguin colony ASPA protects one of the largest emperor penguin colonies on land. The Rookery Islands ASPA protects 6 species of breeding seabirds including giant petrels. Protected areas at Scullin Monolith and Murray Monolith, about 150 km east of Mawson, protect large seabird breeding sites.

These areas are extremely vulnerable to human impacts. Entry permits are required for these areas. Specific management plans are required for all activities conducted within them.