AUSTRALIAN ANTARCTIC SCIENCE COUNCIL

Terms of Reference

Purpose

The purpose of the Australian Antarctic Science Council is to provide strategic advice to Government, and to guide and advise Australian Antarctic research entities on science outcomes that meet Australian Government requirements to support Australia's national interests.

Specific Responsibilities

The Australian Antarctic Science Council will advise Government on:

- Arrangements to implement the Government's Response to the Australian Antarctic Science Program Review, completed in December 2017, including:
- Options to increase collaboration and research partnerships in Antarctic science
- Opportunities to maximise efficiencies and streamline funding and governance processes
- Oversight of the revision of Australia's Antarctic science strategic plans and strategies, including priority research areas in the context of Australia's national Antarctic interests
- Options to transparently prioritise and balance science that aligns to Australia's national Antarctic interests with excellent science and long-term monitoring and mapping
- Options to develop a comprehensive digital model of the Australian Antarctic Territory
- Development of impact performance measures to evaluate the Australian Antarctic Science Program, including for individual science projects (for projects commencing in 2020-21) and to evaluate the Australian Government's response to the Australian Antarctic Program Governance Review (December 2017) by 30 June 2020.
- Options to maintain or enhance Australia's international reputation on Antarctic science including by maximising the use of the Government's Antarctic infrastructure and supporting annual planning of the Australian Antarctic Science Program.

The Commonwealth Minister responsible for the Environment may from time to time request other advice from the Council or request additional studies or reviews to be undertaken.

Membership

The Council will be chaired by an independent person with demonstrated leadership in governance and/or science. The Chair will be appointed by the Environment Minister for a period of up to three years and will be eligible for reappointment.

Ex-officio positions will be reserved for the Chair of the Australian National Committee on Antarctic Research, the Director of the Australian Antarctic Division, the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science, CEO of the Australian Research Council, the Bureau of Meteorology, CSIRO and Geoscience Australia. Ex officio positions will also be reserved for the Chair of the Australian Antarctic Program Partnership, and the Chairs of the Securing Antarctica's Environmental Future and Australian Centre for Excellence in Antarctic Science Research programs.

Two independent members with demonstrated science experience will be appointed by the Environment Minister for a period of up to three years and will be eligible for reappointment.

Executive Officer

The Chief Scientist of the Australian Antarctic Division will serve as the Executive Officer to the Council.