The following organisations are eligible to receive Australian Antarctic Science grant funding.

New South Wales

  • Charles Sturt University
  • Macquarie University
  • Southern Cross University
  • The University of New England
  • The University of New South Wales
  • The University of Newcastle
  • The University of Sydney
  • University of Technology, Sydney
  • University of Western Sydney
  • University of Wollongong


  • Deakin University
  • Federation University Australia
  • La Trobe University
  • Monash University
  • RMIT University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • The University of Melbourne
  • University of Divinity
  • Victoria University


  • Bond University
  • Central Queensland University
  • Griffith University
  • James Cook University
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • The University of Queensland
  • University of the Sunshine Coast
  • University of Southern Queensland

Western Australia

  • Curtin University of Technology
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Murdoch University
  • The University of Notre Dame Australia
  • The University of Western Australia

South Australia

  • The Flinders University of South Australia
  • The University of Adelaide
  • Torrens University Australia
  • University of South Australia


  • University of Tasmania

Northern Territory

  • Charles Darwin University
  • Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education

Australian Capital Territory

  • The Australian National University
  • University of Canberra
  • Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies


  • Australian Catholic University

State-funded museums and institutions

State-funded museums and institutions must obtain prior approval from the Chief Scientist before seeking AAS grant support. In doing so applicants will need to demonstrate the research planned could not be considered a core responsibility for their state institution to support.