Australian Antarctic Division (AAD)

Aerial view of a group of office buildings with a prominent map of Antarctica and flagpoles in the foreground
Australian Antarctic Division headquarters — Kingston, Tasmania (Photo: Simon Payne)

The Australian Antarctic Division, based in Hobart, Tasmania, is part of the Australian Government’s Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment.

The Division is responsible for Australia’s presence and activities in the Australian Antarctic Territory and the Southern Ocean. The Division leads Australia’s Antarctic Program.