The Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment is responsible for the management of the nation’s activities in the Antarctic and sub-Antarctic region. The Australian Antarctic Division of the Department has the prime responsibility for managing the programs and policies involved. Policy, environmental authorisations, and approvals relating to tourism and non-government expeditions in Antarctica are the responsibility of the Division’s Antarctic Territories, Environment and Policy Section.

Do you have a question about Antarctic tourism in general? Please check the Frequently Asked Questions page. If this page does not answer your question, please contact us.


Tourism Policy Officer
Policy Coordination Branch
Australian Antarctic Division
Channel Highway
Kingston TAS 7050


Telephone: 03 6232 3209 (international +61–3 6232 3209) (Time Zone UTC +10 or +11)

Fax: 03 6232 3500 (international +61 3 6232 3500)