Weather and time


Research stationObservation date (UTC)Air temperatureAir pressureWind speed
Casey17-Jun-2019 03:00:05−11.3°C981.3 hPa0 km/h
Davis17-Jun-2019 03:01:01−21.4°C990.2 hPa17 km/h
Macquarie Island17-Jun-2019 03:01:106.1°C1007.1 hPa39 km/h
Mawson17-Jun-2019 03:01:02−17.6°C992.1 hPa0 km/h


Australia’s Antarctic stations all operate on different times. Except during the summer season (October to March) the stations are in different time zones, reflecting the longitudinal distance that separates them.

Time differences between Australia and the stations vary from state to state and also with daylight saving regimes during summer. The following list indicates the time difference, where applicable, between Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) or Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) and local time at each station:

Station/locationCurrent timeHours behind AEST/AEDT
Aurora Australis01:01 PM, 17 Jun 2019, UTC+100
Casey station11:01 AM, 17 Jun 2019, UTC+82
Davis station10:01 AM, 17 Jun 2019, UTC+73
Macquarie Island station01:01 PM, 17 Jun 2019, UTC+100
Mawson station08:01 AM, 17 Jun 2019, UTC+55
Wilkins Aerodrome11:01 AM, 17 Jun 2019, UTC+82