Areas of environmental significance

A large amount of penguins huddle very closely together
Taylor penguin colony (Photo: Robyn Mundy)
An aerial view from the water of a large monolith covered in ice

There are three Antarctic Specially Protected Areas (ASPAs) within the vicinity of the station including Taylor emperor penguin colony ASPA, established to protect one of the largest emperor penguin colonies on land and the Rookery Islands ASPA, established to protect six species of breeding seabirds including giant petrels. Protected areas at Scullin Monolith and Murray Monolith about 150 km east of Mawson were established to protect large seabird breeding sites.

Vulnerable to human impacts, the protection of these areas is facilitated by the use of entry permits, and the requirement that the conduct of all activities within them is in accordance with specific management plans.

There are a number of maps that refer to Mawson which are downloadable from our web pages.

For these maps and mapping information, visit the AAD Data Centre map catalogue.