Australian Antarctic Names and Medals Committee

This bronze medal shows a map of Antarctica and the words 'For outstanding service in the Antarctic'
Antarctic Medal

The Australian Antarctic Names and Medals Committee (AANMC) was established to advise the Government on names for features in the Australian Antarctic Territory (AAT) and the Territory of Heard Island and the McDonald Islands (HIMI), and on nominations to be made to the Governor General for the award of the Australian Antarctic Medal.

Committee members are appointed by the Minister or Parliamentary Secretary responsible for Antarctic matters.

The AANMC was established in 1982, and operates today as a single Committee with several functions but is derived from the Antarctic Names Committee of Australia, which was established in 1952. The Committee meets annually to consider nominations.

A nomination period is usually advertised from November to February, however nominations can be submitted on-line at any time.

General queries

For approved Australian Antarctic place names search the Gazetteer.

For information about the Australian Antarctic Medal, contact the Committee Secretary.

This page was last updated on 19 February 2015.