XXXV ATCM Hobart, Australia

The Chair, Executive Secretary and Australian Secretariat host sit at the main table with the ATCM banner behind.
The 2012 ATCM meeting underway in Hobart (Photo: Richard Jupe/AAD)

The 35th Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting (ATCM) was held in Hobart from the 11th to the 20th of June 2012. Representatives from all over the world met to exchange information and to discuss Antarctica and related matters of common interest. Fifty countries (or parties), experts and observers were invited to participate in the meetings.

The parties prepare and consider new principles or objectives of the Treaty, which they recommend to their governments. The outcomes of Treaty meetings are then adopted by consensus of the Consultative Parties.

The ATCM meets annually and is hosted by the Parties according to the alphabetical order of their English names. The 2012 meeting took place in Hobart and this was the third time that Australia had hosted the ATCM, including the first ever meeting in Canberra in July 1961, and again in September 1983.