Spotlight on the sea ice, 2012

Wendy standing on the deck of the Aurora Australis with an iceberg in the distance
Wendy's last trip to Antarctica was in 2009-10 to report on a marine science voyage. (Photo: Roger Springthorpe)
Photo of Wendy PyperWendy dressed in Antarctic clothing

Follow Australian Antarctic Division science reporter Dr Wendy Pyper as she joins scientists on a seven-week voyage to the sea ice zone off East Antarctica.

The Sea Ice Physics and Ecosystem eXperiment II (SIPEX-II) will examine the physics, chemistry and biology of the sea ice zone. The resulting data will enhance scientists’ capability to detect climate change and assess its impacts on ecosystem function in the ice-covered Southern Ocean.

Wendy last went south on a marine science and resupply voyage in 2009–10 where she visited Casey and Davis stations.

Monday, 12 November 2012
Homeward bound
Thursday, 8 November 2012
Seafaring life highly rated
Tuesday, 6 November 2012
Feeding the masses
Monday, 5 November 2012
Wildlife watching
Friday, 2 November 2012
Breaking the ice
Wednesday, 31 October 2012
Icebergs and krill
Monday, 29 October 2012
The golden rule of sea ice permeability
Monday, 22 October 2012
Enlightening science
Friday, 19 October 2012
Bringing laser precision to snow research
Wednesday, 17 October 2012
Ice core jewels
Monday, 15 October 2012
Sea ice diamonds
Friday, 12 October 2012
Twenty metres under the sea ice
Thursday, 11 October 2012
Sea ice sky lab
Tuesday, 9 October 2012
Watching the locals
Monday, 8 October 2012
SIPEX II voyage tracks 5 October
Tuesday, 2 October 2012
All weather science and support
Friday, 28 September 2012
A day of delight and drama
Thursday, 27 September 2012
Association of Polar Early Career Scientists part 2
Tuesday, 25 September 2012
Association of Polar Early Career Scientists part 1
Sunday, 23 September 2012
Measuring waves in the sea ice
Friday, 21 September 2012
Continuous Plankton Recorder
Wednesday, 19 September 2012
Field training
Saturday, 15 September 2012
Calm before the storm
Wednesday, 12 September 2012
Preparing to depart
Tuesday, 11 September 2012
Deep sea lighthouse lures Antarctic krill
Thursday, 6 September 2012
Testing technology
Tuesday, 4 September 2012
Spring voyage has sea ice in its sights
This page was last modified on 4 September 2012.