Diary of a Davis Station Leader, 2003

Davis Station Leader Jeremy Smith March 2003

My name is Jeremy Smith and I was Station Leader at Davis from December 2002 until December 2003.

I find being in this beautiful corner of East Antarctica with a small group of fellow expeditioners both a privilege and a pleasure. I would like to share some of this interesting but peculiar life and environment with a wider audience. This series of descriptions and reminiscences covers all aspects of modern ANARE life.

Whether you are a student, hope to visit Antarctica yourself, or are just browsing, I hope that by reading my 'diary' here, you will experience a little of the isolation and chill, but also the excitement and joy of being in such an extraordinary place.

Jeremy Smith
Station Leader Davis 2003

Monday, 11 August 2003
A brush with history
Friday, 11 July 2003
A winter field trip
Thursday, 12 June 2003
Life during midwinter
Saturday, 10 May 2003
Quad ride to Crooked Lake
Tuesday, 22 April 2003
Fishing competition
Tuesday, 15 April 2003
The sea freezes
Monday, 31 March 2003
International darts match
Sunday, 23 March 2003
Friday drinks at the old station
Monday, 17 March 2003
Saturday, 8 March 2003
Elephant seals at Davis
Sunday, 23 February 2003
Xue Long visits Davis
Thursday, 13 February 2003
A ship comes and goes
Friday, 31 January 2003
Cultural events at Davis
Sunday, 26 January 2003
Australia Day at Davis
Tuesday, 14 January 2003
Summery Sunday
Friday, 10 January 2003
Short walk in the Vestfolds
Tuesday, 7 January 2003
Summer days at Davis
Wednesday, 18 December 2002
Return to Davis