History of Australian Antarctic stations

Australia established its first stations in the subantarctic at Heard Island in December 1947 and Macquarie Island a few months later in March 1948.

Australia established the first permanent base on the Antarctic continent at Mawson in 1954, which now enjoys the reputation of being the longest continuously operating station in Antarctica.

Davis was established in 1957 for studies associated with International Geophysical Year (IGY).

Two years later in 1959, Australia took over the running of Wilkes, built by the USA on the Clarke Peninsula for IGY two years earlier. As Wilkes rapidly deteriorated due to snow and ice accumulation, Casey was eventually built to replace it, initially as Casey Repstat in 1969. The present day station of Casey was officially opened in 1988.